Canada set US 195-run target in opener

Ali Khan (Left) and Monak Patel before the match. — ICC 

Canada have set a 195-run target for the United States after they were put in by the United States in the first match of the T20 World Cup 2024 at the Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas on Sunday.

The highlights of the match were opener Navneet Dhaliwal and middle-order batter Nicholas Kirton who hit the fifties for their side to set a competitive total.

Dhaliwal hit 61 runs in 44 balls with the help of six fours and three sixes with Kirton adding to the total 51 runs off 31 balls. Kirton’s score included three fours and two maximums.

Shreyas Movva was on fire with an unbeaten cameo of 32 runs off 16 deliveries. Meantime, Ali Khan, Harmeet Singh and Corey Anderson bagged one wicket each. 

Earlier, USA captain Monank Patel said at the toss that it is a fresh wicket and his side will have more clarity while chasing.

“Playing the World Cup is an amazing feeling. We’ve sacrificed a lot in the last five years,” he added.

Meanwhile, Canada’s Saad Bin Zafar said that the surface is good and he doesn’t mind batting first.

“It’s a World Cup and we have a full squad, so confident we’ll do well. First time we’re playing in the tournament, hope to do it with a win,” he added.

The two teams are advancing the oldest rivalry in the history of the game, dating back to their first international game in 1844 at St George’s Cricket Club in New York.

The North American rivals have locked horns seven times in T20I matches, where the USA had the upper hand on five occasions and Canada has won just twice.

Canada and the USA are in Group A alongside India, Pakistan and Ireland.


Canada: 1 Aaron Johnson, 2 Navneet Dhaliwal, 3 Pargat Singh, 4 Nicholas Kirton, 5 Shreyas Movva (wk), 6 Dilpreet Bajwa, 7 Saad Bin Zafar (capt), 8 Nikhil Dutta, 9 Dilon Heyliger, 10 Kaleem Sana, 11 Jeremy Gordon

USA: 1 Steven Taylor, 2 Monank Patel (capt, wk), 3 Andries Gous, 4 Aaron Jones, 5 Nitish Kumar, 6 Corey Anderson, 7 Harmeet Singh, 8 Shadley van Schalkwyk, 9 Jasdeep Singh, 10 Ali Khan, 11 Saurabh Netravalkar

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.