Pakistan win toss, opt to bowl first

Ireland’s skipper Paul Stirling (L) with Pakistan’s Babar Azam during the toss on May 12, 2024. — PCB

Pakistan on Sunday won the toss and opted to bowl first in the second T20I against Ireland at Clontarf Cricket Club in Dublin.

Earlier, the toss was delayed due to heavy rain. 

Both teams made one changes each as for Ireland Barry McCarthy replaced Graham Hume while for Pakistan, experienced pacer Mohammad Amir returend to the playing XI in place of Shadab Khan, who failed to contribute a single run with the bat and conceded 54 runs in four overs with the ball in first T20I.

Playing XIs

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Saim Ayub, Mohammad Rizwan, Fakhar Zaman, Azam Khan, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Abbas Afridi, Mohammad Amir

Ireland: Paul Stirling (c), Mark Adair, Andrew Bilbirnie, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Graham Hume, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker (wk), Ben White, Craig Young

Pakistan didn’t have the best start in their Ireland tour as they were handed a five-wicket loss in the first T20I of the three-match series on Friday in Dublin.

With just two more matches to play in the series, there is no room for error for the Babar Azam-led unit as a loss on Sunday would mean a series defeat just on the verge of the T20 World Cup 2024.

Remember, the toss was delayed due to rain and there is 40% chance of light rain showers and a gentle breeze, according to BBC weather. Light showers could continue till 8 pm local but there is no prediction of heavy rain.

It must be noted that after completing the three-match T20I series against Ireland, Pakistan will travel to England and compete in four T20Is there which will end on May 30.

After the tour of England, Pakistan will leave for the United States to participate in the upcoming T20 World Cup where they are placed in Group A alongside arch-rivals India, Canada, United States and Ireland.

Pakistan’s schedule of upcoming matches

Tour of Ireland

May 12: Second T20I at Clontarf

May 14: Third T20I at Clontarf

Tour of England

May 22: First T20I at Leeds

May 25: Second T20I at Birmingham

May 28: Third T20I at Cardiff

May 30: Fourth T20I at The Oval

T20 World Cup 2024

June 6: Pakistan vs USA, Dallas

June 9: Pakistan vs India, New York

June 11: Pakistan vs Canada, New York

June 16: Pakistan vs Ireland, Lauderhill

More to follow… 

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.