Eoin Morgan names strongest squad of T20 World Cup

Former England captain Eoin Morgan has named the strongest squad of the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024.

The ODI World Cup-winning captain said India have the strongest squad in the mega event, scheduled in the USA and the West Indies.

The Men in Blue has failed to win an ICC tournament since their Champions Trophy victory in 2013 but they always go into any event as favourites.

“For me, the strongest side, even with injuries throughout the tournament, is India. Their strength in depth is absolutely incredible at the moment. We’re talking about the players who have missed out on the squad of 15 because of the quality they possess. They haven’t won it since that first World Cup back in 2007,” Morgan said.

He picked India as the favourites to win the competition as he feels if India played to their potential, they could beat any side in the event.

India are placed in Group A of the tournament alongside arch-rivals Pakistan, Ireland, Canada and co-hosts USA. Their campaign begins on June 5 against Ireland at the newly-constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York before they take on Pakistan in one of the most awaited matches of the upcoming T20 World Cup.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.