Who will take over as India’s new T20 captain?

Following Rohit Sharma’s triumphant leadership in securing a T20 World Cup victory against South Africa in Barbados, the skipper announced his retirement after taking the cup home which has paved the way for all-rounder Hardik Pandya to emerge as the top contender for India’s new T20 captain.

According to Indian media reports, Hardik Pandya might lead the team in the upcoming series against Sri Lanka, with fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah tipped to be his deputy.

Earlier this week, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Jay Shah confirmed that Rohit Sharma will continue leading the Indian team for the Champions Trophy and the World Test Championship (WTC) final if the team makes the cut.

The T20 World Cup victory saw both Sharma and Virat Kohli retire from the format, prompting discussions about the future leadership of the Indian T20 team.

Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav have emerged as potential candidates for the captaincy.

Pandya, who also leads the Mumbai Indians, is expected to be appointed as T20 captain until the 2026 World Cup.

Although many players are in the race for the role, Pandya is significantly leading the race and is likely to be the next captain of the Indian team.

The BCCI also considered Jasprit Bumrah and Suryakumar Yadav for the role. However, Hardik emerged as the preferred choice and will lead the team in the upcoming T20I series against Sri Lanka.

Currently, the Indian cricket team is playing a five-match T20 series in Zimbabwe. Senior players have been rested, giving IPL stars an opportunity to shine. Shubman Gill is serving as the interim captain for this series.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.