Australia elect to bowl first against Scotland

Captains of Australia and Scotland. — x/ ESPNcricinfo

Australia won the toss and chose to field first against Scotland in the 35th match of the ICC’s T20 World Cup 2024 being played at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground on Saturday. 

This is a must-win match for Scotland to go through to Super 8. However, if they lost to Australia, it will clear the way for England to make it to the next round of Super 8. Meanwhile, Australia have already qualified for the Super 8.

“Looks a really good surface,” says Mitchell Marsh after winning the toss. “It’s like another World Cup game and we have a lot of respect for Scotland. Two changes: Cummins and Hazlewood are out (rested), Starc and Agar come in.”

“For us, the chatter is out of our control,” says Scotland’s captain Richie Berrington. “We knew we had to beat some of the best teams to qualify. We have gone with the same team as last game.”


Australia: 1 David Warner, 2 Travis Head, 3 Mitchell Marsh (capt), 4 Glenn Maxwell, 5 Marcus Stoinis, 6 Tim David, 7 Matthew Wade (wk), 8 Ashton Agar, 9 Mitchell Starc, 10 Nathan Ellis, 11 Adam Zampa

Scotland: 1 George Munsey, 2 Michael Jones, 3 Brandon McMullen, 4 Richie Berrington (capt), 5 Matthew Cross (wk), 6 Michael Leask, 7 Chris Greaves, 8 Mark Watt, 9 Chris Sole, 10 Brad Wheal, 11 Safyaan Sharif

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.