Bhurtel, Dipendra shine as Nepal contain SA to 115

Nepal players celebrate after taking a wicket against South Africa on June 15, 2024.— X@CallyanTimsina

South Africa were rectricted to only 115 for the loss of seven wickets after Nepal won the toss and elected to field first in their third league game of the T20 World Cup 2024. 

Reeza Hendricks was the top scorer for the Proteas with 43 runs off 49 balls, while Tristen Stubbs scored 27 runs off 18 balls towards the end of the innings. 

Kushal Bhurtel was the pick of the bowlers for Nepal with four wickets, giving away only 19 runs in his four overs. Dipendra Singh Airee took three wickets for 21 runs in his four overs.   

Nepal are already eliminated while South Africa have qualified for Super 8 stage. 

The Proteas are unbeaten in the tournament so far as they have won all three of their games. They have defeated Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and Netherlands in their initial three encounters. 

Meanwhile, Nepal are looking for their first win as they lost their game to Netherlands and their second game against Sri Lanka was washed out due to rain.  


Nepal: Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh(WK), Anil Sah, Rohit Paudel(C), Kushal Malla, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane (in for Sagar Dhakal), Abinash Bohara.

South Africa: Quinton de Kock(WK), Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(C), Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, Ottneil Baartman, Tabraiz Shamsi (in for Keshav Maharaj).

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.